tengeru

Sailing blog site – Tengeru

The Good, the Bad and the down right Ugly

4 Comments

tengeru, blog, sailing site

The hull, finished apart from anti-fouling

tengeru, blog, sailing site

The ‘fancy’ line

 

 

 

 

Well, this last weekend, saw me down in ‘Sunny’ Cornwall, again. Now, we live in a world of high technology. We can see stars and planets, millions of light years away. We can see inside our own bodies, using all sorts of weird ‘Star Wars’ gizmos. We can, even, bomb each other from hundreds of miles away. Can you get a phone signal, or internet connection from the boatyard in Saltash.? Not even Yoda, can do that.!!! I have heard a nasty rumour that they will very soon be getting that funny stuff, ‘Electrickery’ down there, soon. They are a bit dubious, because, if you can’t see it, or touch it, then ‘it don’t exist, my luvver’.

Anyhow, I got the hull finished, all apart from the anti-fouling. I wont be doing that for a while, yet. At some point, I’ll get ’round to doing the rubbing strake, but I’ll wait for a really horrible winter’s day for that, just to achieve maximum enjoyment out the job.!!

I’ve decided to start a new charitable organisation. It’ll be called ‘Support Tengeru’s Engine Fund’ – STEF for short. It seems that my old Perkins 4-107 engine has come to the end of it’s life. Well, that’s what the boatyard are telling me. Now, the engine is only 44 years old and as I understand it, it hasn’t even been run in yet. However, I was told ‘them there bits, is all worn out. Be lots of groats to fix it’. Now ‘Patricia Perkins’ has a low oil pressure problem. I’ve known women with the same problem, but they’re still going strong………………………………… So, all donations gratefully received, to breath life into Patricia, or find a younger model.

Oh, for those with an eye on the ridiculous………………England are playing San Marino, tonight, in the European thingy, (soccer, football, male fashion display, whatever you want to call it). We are a nation of 60 miilion people, we are going to be playing a Principality with, at last count, about 153 people in it. I’m off down the bookies to place a bet that San Marino win.!!!

 

 

Donate Button

4 thoughts on “The Good, the Bad and the down right Ugly

  1. I don’t trust that electrickery stuff either. I am told that water and the stuff don’t mix for some reason. I have just earthed our 380 watts of new solar panels to the shower head. My wife must think i did a good job as she has been in there for over a week now admiring it. I will have to get her out soon as I am feeling hungry.
    As usual loved your blog.. I would have rung you to tell you but I keep getting an answerphone message.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can I put in a vote for a Yanmar engine? LOVE mine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

